Undergraduate Students

York University’s Department of Theatre offers a 360 degree view of the world of theatre, with degree programs in Theatre leading to a Specialized Honours BA Theatre-Theatre Studies, Specialized Honours BFA Theatre-Production, Specialized Honours BFA Theatre-Acting or Bachelor of Arts (BA).

All students who enter the Department come in as Specialized Honours BA Theatre-Theatre Studies students, and do a General First Year that introduces them to all aspects of Theatre, including Acting, Production/Design, and Performance Creation & Research. At the end of first year, students choose their path in our Next Steps process in order to enter Performance Creation & Research, Devised Theatre, Playwriting & New Play Dramaturgy, Production/Design, and Acting.

Students concentrating in studio work (Acting or Production/Design) graduate with a Specialized Honours BFA Theatre degree. Those concentrating in Performance Creation & Research (Devised Theatre, Playwriting, History, Theory and Criticism) graduate with a Specialized Honours BA Theatre degree.  Students may also choose to complete at least 90 credits and graduate with a BA degree.

For complete information on each of the specific undergraduate programs in the Department of Theatre, and the course requirements, see the University Academic Calendar for Theatre.

Graduate Students

The Department of Theatre offers two kinds of graduate programs:

  1. the MA/PhD programs offered in Theatre and Performance Studies
  2.  the MFA programs offered in Theatre, including Acting, Directing, Design and Performance Creation